top of page
Search
  • jgeorg22

Final Project

Oh wow, where do I start?


It's a bit bittersweet to be posting my final project on here. I did love the class, and quite frankly, wish I could've explored a bit more. Still, I'm sure there will be other opportunities in life to do so.


This project is by far one of the most immersive, troublesome ones I've done upto date. I got the base coding off the interwebs (I KNOW! HOW HORRIBLE!!!) but I made quite a few changes. One of my biggest hurdles was getting the paddle at the bottom of the game to move smoothly. I got it to move (That was trouble in and of itself) but it was very buggy. Figuring out how to fix that had me pulling my hair out.

What I wanted to do, if I had more time was:

  1. Set it up so that every now and then there's a cluster of hard to break bricks, or random bricks in the set up that are hard to break

  2. These hard to break bricks give extra points

  3. Set bricks up to regenerate slowly. So some come back even after you break them


At the moment, I feel like the code is still incredibly simple, BUT it was a lot of work to do. I had to fix a lot of bugs in the base program, understand the base program and add what I wanted to, onto it. I realized that to change the amount of points and the "hp" of the bricks, I'd have to rewrite the createBricks function, which is far more difficult to do in limited time. I suppose not having been able to come to class is a big part of this.


For now, I've got the basic game up and running. A score board, an interactive paddle and about 100 pts. that need to be won, so... who's trying?

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Article- Technology has influence

Technology is great and very influential. However, that influence has the power to be used in potentially skewed and dangerous ways. Technology has the power to announce what it wants and also to mute

Ball that bounces

I'm stuck. I figured it out but I'm stuck. So, assignment complete (I'll take a cookie now! TYVM! but I'm having trouble figuring out the color changes. I managed to do it using the example from class

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page